New Lists (MLTSSL & STSOL) - Criteria | EMSA Australia

1st of July updates. New lists (MLTSSL & STSOL) and criteria and what it means for you

Happy new migration year!

So as you all know, things with immigration can and do change and the 1st of July is usually when most of the changes as implemented. To help you navigate the changes announced over the weekend, we’ve put together an article that aims to simplify things to help you understand how the new framework affects you and your pathway.

Skilled migration

New Medium to Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) – Skilled Migration

As per the announcement in April, the Department of Immigration and border protection has renamed the old Skilled Occupation List (SOL) and it’s now called the Medium to Long-Term Strategic Skill List (MLTSSL).

What can be confusing is there are now two Medium to Long-Term Strategic Skills List.

One for general skilled migration (189, 489, 485) and employer sponsorship (457/186).

If you have an occupation on the MLTSSL that is linked here, it means that your occupation is eligible the general skilled migration and if you have the points, you can submit an expression of interest for the following visas: Skilled independent (189); skilled family sponsored (489); graduate work (485).

This list has 178 Skilled Occupations


As of the 1st of July, applicants over the age of 45 will no longer be able to apply (or receive an invitation) for skilled migration to Australia.

This means, that if you were looking at applying for the 189, 489 or 190 visa, you now need to make sure you receive an invitation before your 45th birthday.

Employer sponsorship

 For Subclass 457 there are now two occupation lists:

• Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)
• Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL).

New Medium to Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) – Employer Sponsorship

As  of 1 July, there is now a new MLTSSL for employer sponsorship.

This list outlines the occupations that are eligible to apply for both permanent employee sponsorship direct entry (186 visa) and also for four year 457 visas.

This list is slightly longer then the MLTSSL for skilled and has 207 occupations. The link is listed here:

People who have an occupation on this list will be allowed to transition from a 457 Visa to permanent residency after being on the 457 visa for a period of three years or more (after the changes in March 2018).

Combined list of occupations (temporary employer sponsorship)

The combined list of occupations replaces the old Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL) and outlines the occupations that are eligible to apply for the temporary 457 visa for up to 2 years. This is the list that had 219 occupations removed in April this year. This list is a combination of the Short-term skilled occupation list and the Medium to long-term strategic skills list (employer sponsorship). 

This list has 460 occupations on it and can be seen by clicking the link here.


Caveats are additional requirements that need to be met in order for a company to sponsor an employee. An occupation cannot be used for Subclass 457 if the nominee’s position does not meet the ‘caveat’ requirements as specified in the relevant legislative instrument.
These caveats include such conditions as the breadth of the occupation to certain industries, skills or tasks, requiring the position to be located in regional Australia; or specifying a minimum salary or business turnover. 

New English level required

A new English level equivalent to IELTS of 6 in each band (reading, writing, listening and speaking) is now required for all employer-sponsored permanent visas.
Before 1st July, those applying for temporary transition stream were allowed to have vocational level but will now be required to have competent level English.
To see what test results are required, see our blog on English test results.


As of the 1st of July, applicants over the age of 45 will no longer be able to apply for direct entry permanent employer sponsorship (186 / 187 visa). Applicants who already hold a 457 Visa and are looking to
Applicants who already hold a 457 Visa and are looking to pathway through the temporary transition stream can still do this until March 2018, after that date, transition applicants will need to be under 45 years old (which is a change from the current requirement of 50 years of age).

Additional Skills Assessments 

From 1 July 2017, passport holders from Bangladesh, Nepal and Pakistan applying for a subclass 457 visa or permanent skilled migration in the occupations of Chef and Cook must have their skills assessed through the relevant Skills Assessing Authority. 

So all in all, we were expecting some of these changes and it appears that the creation of 2 lists (one for employer sponsorship and one for skilled migration) has meant that the Department of Immigration and Border Protection has listened to some industry groups regarding occupations for sponsorship that require a pathway for longer visas and to help Australia maintain a competitive market for attracting highly skilled international talent (workers).

For more information on how these changes affect you, BOOK A MEETING with our migration team today.

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *